Each year, the National Summer Learning Association (NSLA) recognizes the outstanding work done during the summer months on behalf of our nation’s youth. Candidates for the Summer Learning Awards are exceptional summer programs, models, and systems that keep children and youth learning, safe and healthy during the critical summer months. They show strong outcomes in helping students cement the skills they have learned during the academic school year through creative curricula, unique programming and effective family engagement strategies.

There are three categories of Summer Learning Awards:

New York Life Foundation Excellence in Summer Learning Award
Defined by its rigorous application and selection process, this award has recognized enrollment-based programs employing staff who work directly with youth since 2005.

NSLA Founder’s Award
Established in 2015, this award recognizes informal programs and other non-traditional forms of summer learning innovation that are critical to serving the diverse needs of schools, families, and children.

Lands’ End Love Learning Award
Debuted in 2018, this award aims to shine a spotlight on quality programs that bring learning to life in informal learning spaces and support families in meaningful ways.

Winning programs receive: